Welcome to Newer Yorker

You come to New York to find the ambiance that will evoke your best. You do not necessarily know precisely what that might be, but you come to New York to discover it.

-Dr. James Hillman

I never had any great ambition to end up here.

I’ve probably not been here long enough to describe such an observation as being from an educated standpoint, but I’d like to think that New York attracts people who always wanted to live in New York. I was never one of them.

I left my home, sure, but this wasn’t where I was planning to settle. I moved to Colombia earlier this year to learn Spanish and to experience a foreign culture as an insider. I told my friends and family back home that when I’d had my fill of that, I would just see what happened.

New York happened. Even from another continent, its pull is strong enough to drag an aimless man to its shores.

I never put up a fight, of course. I love New York. Without even trying, I’ve ended up here four times in the last two years. There’s always a reason to come back. I never get bored with it.

You can find pieces of New York in every part of the world, but this is the only city where you can find them all in one place. That is its glory. That is has everything that’s great about every city of the world: history, culture, nightlife…

It is, as Alistair Cooke put it, “the biggest collection of villages in the world”. There is something on every corner: a good place to eat, something to do, a story. Always something.

Many have tried to capture its essence, in film, in song, in words. This blog is my attempt.

So what really can you expect from this blog? I’ll be aiming to update at least three times a week (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays) with a variety of fresh content. There’ll be reviews, advice, and a spot of creative writing. The rest I’d like to leave as a surprise for now.

Feel free to hit me up at danielpfitzgerald@gmail.com if you have thoughts you’d like to pass on, particularly if these thoughts should follow some sort of theme about what a splendid chap I am.

Cheers,
DF.

Leave a Reply

